Jumaat, 30 Mei 2008

Borneo And The Homeland Of The Malays: Four Essays.

On 10—11 April 2000, the Institute of the Malay World and Civilization at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, with the cooperation of Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka, convened an international colloquium, Borneo as the Homeland of Malay: The Implications for Research. The principal invited speakers were internationally well-known professors in comparative Austronesian linguistics and Austronesian archaeology. Other invited participants represented a broad diversity of academic disciplines, including economics, history, linguistics, oral literature, sociology, anthropology and geography.

This book, Borneo and the Homeland of the Malays: Four Essays, presents an introductory essay by Professor James T. Collins on the idea of language homelands, with particular reference to the Austronesian family of languages. There follow the three principal papers presented at this foundation colloquium in 2000. Professor Peter Bellwood offers an assessment of the archaeological arguments regarding the Malay homeland and the need to take into account other evidence, especially linguistic evidence. In his essay, Professor Robert Blust makes it clear that any discussion of the homeland of Malay and Malayic must also consider the homeland of Chamic languages, an Austronesian branch closely related to Malay and Malayic, spoken in Indo-China. Similarly, Professor Bernd Nothofer presents linguistic arguments that suggest that some of the languages, such as Sasak and Madurese, spoken in islands to the southeast of Borneo most likely also had their homelands in Borneo. After these four essays, Professor Bernard Sellato discusses the geographic, historic and economic implications of Borneo as the Homeland of Malay.

By presenting the foundation essays that launched a series of fieldwork investigations in Western Borneo (2000—2005), it is hoped that other scholars in diverse ‘‘ fields will continue to test and refine the hypothesis that Borneo is the homeland of Malay.

The Extreme Future: The Top trends That Will reshape The World In The Next 20 Years.

A radical new future is coming - an Extreme Future. Learn what a leading global futurist has identified as the top trends that will affect every business and individual in the twenty-first century.

In the tradition of Future Shock, Megatrends, and The Tipping Point, The Extreme Future is the essential trends handbook for navigating the twenty-first century. If you want to know what's next - read this book.

Dr. James Canton advises Fortune 1000 companies and international goverments on global forecasts. Discover the trends that will create risk and opportunity in the future, which include: the strategies businesses must implement to compete, the innovations that will transform the global economy, the climate change and energy trends that will reshape the planet, the astounding medical breakthrought that will extend life spans, and the global truggle that will follow the rise of China.

The Extreme Future is coming, whether you choose to response or not. What actions are you ready to take?

Rabu, 28 Mei 2008

'Jerangkap' - Koleksi Cerpen Pilihan Dalam Pelita Brunei.

Buku koleksi ini mengandungi dua puluh dua buah cerpen hasil karya para penulis tempatan yang terpilih dan dikeluarkan dalam Pelita Brunei di sepanjang bulan Januari hingga bulan Mei tahun 2001.Penerbitan buku ini adalah merupakan usaha berterusan Jabatan Penerangan bagi mengumpul karya-karya cerpen yang terpilih. Pengumpulan ini juga sebagai usaha untuk menghargai sumbangan penulis kepada perkembangan kesusasteraan tanah air terutama penulis-penulis cerpen.

Di samping itu ia juga merupakan hasil daripada beberapa maklum balas yang diterima dari para peminat dan pembaca cerpen di Pelita Brunei yang mana mengesyorkan supaya ada usaha Jabatan Penerangan kearah mengumpul cerpen-cerpen yang terpilih untuk dijadikan sebuah buku yang akan memberikan manafaat yang baik kepada para pembaca dan peminat amnya dan para pengkaji sastera tanah air mengenai perkembangan dan kemajuan kesusasteraan yang dihasilkan oleh penulis tempatan.

Koleksi pertama, kedua dan ketiga telah diungkayahkan oleh Jabatan Penerangan yang mana telah diterbitkan pada awal tahun 2002. Buku tersebut diberi judul Koleksi Cerpen Pilihan Dalam Pelita Brunei. Koleksi tersebut masing-masing diberi judul “Pewaris Kemenangan Bangsa; Gadis Misteri; dan Tua dan Aktif”. Dalam keluaran ke empat ini, beberapa perubahan dan tambahan telah dibuat kepada pengolahan rekaletak, susunan cerpen dikeluarkan, biodata penulis dan sebagainya oleh pihak penerbit.

Bagaimanapun, dalam masa yang sama pihak penerbit (dan para penulis) sangat mengalu-alukan pandangan yang telah disalurkan. Pihak penerbit (dan para penulis) percaya penerbitan Koleksi Cerpen Pilihan Dalam Pelita Brunei dapat merangsang lagi semangat para penulis tanah air kearah menghasilkan karya yang bermutu dan secara langsung pihak penerbit (dan para penulis) juga percaya ia dapat membantu supaya karya sastera tanah air menjadi kumpulan sumber bahan penyelidikan kepada penyelidik-penyelidik sastera di masa-masa akan datang.

Ahad, 25 Mei 2008

'Sungai Siarau' menampilkan gaya penulisan baru.

Antologi ‘Sungai Siarau’ memuatkan 17 buah sajak (termasuk sajak saya la tu… ‘Nostalgia’ heheee) dan 17 buah cerpen yang memenangi Hadiah Kreatif Bahana bagi tahun 1995, 1996 dan 1997. Antologi ini adalah lanjutan daripada antologi “Meniti Jambatan Usia” yang memuatkan cerpen-cerpen dan sajak-sajak yang memenangi Hadiah Kreatif Bahana tahun-tahun yang terdahulu. Dalam genre cerpen gaya penulisannya sudah ada peningkatan yang agak ketara jika dibandingkan dengan genre sajak. Penulisan cerpen yang termuat dalam antologi ini boleh dikatakan sebahagian besar bereksperimen dengan gaya penulisan pasca modenisne dan hanya sebahagian kecil yang masih menggunakan gaya kovensional.

Walaupun menggunakan gaya penulisan dalam bentuk baru (pasca modenisme), penulis berjaya membawa mesej yang mempunyai unsur falsafah, simbolik, sindiran sinis tentang kehidupan masyarakat, dan pergolakan dunia sejagat. Penulis berjaya mengolah cerpen mereka dengan baik serta menerapkan bahasa yang sungguh berkesan. Objektif karya-karya ini diantologikan bagi memudahkan para pembaca dan penelaah sastera menikmati sastera yang bermutu. Ia bersesuaian dengan salah satu matlamat Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka, Brunei untuk menerbitkan bahan-bahan bacaan yang bermutu dan bersesuaian untuk dibaca bagi mencerna fikiran masyarakat. Di samping itu, ia juga bertujuan untuk memperkembangkan dan meningkatkan mutu sastera tanah air.

National Museum launches book on amphibians, reptiles.

A newly published book on 'Amphibians and Reptiles of Tasek Merimbun Heritage Park, Brunei Darussalam' by Museum Department is currently available for purchase at a discounted price of B$2.50, from the original price of B$3.30. The special price will run until Sunday and the book is sold at the old customs wharf where the Museum Department is hosting an exhibition called "Kenali muzium kitani", in conjunction with the International Museum Day.

The Museum Department has published 500 copies of the book, which is a detailed guide to the amphibians and reptiles found in Tasek Merimbun. The book is a result of the inventory and training workshop on 'Herpatological Research and Management Techniques' organised at Tasek Merimbun two years ago. The editors are Indraneil, Samhan Nyawa and Joseph K Charles. Together with a detailed description of the many habitats in Tasek Merimbun, the book also boasts of pictures of the species.

There are some 25 species of amphibians and 30 species of reptiles detailed in the book, which include crested toad, four-ridged toad, seep frog, rufous-sided sticky frog, copper-checked frog, saltwater crocodile, Malayan box turtle, black bearded flying lizard, Asian house gecko, Borneo striped tree skink and water monitor.

Catatan Paling Banyak Dilihat