Local writers urged to promote HM's vision

LOCAL writers and poets can play an important role in realising His Majesty's aspiration of making Brunei Darussalam a zikir nation in constant appraisal of Allah (SWT) as mentioned in His Majesty's titah on the eve of Hari Raya Aidil Adha 2007.This was said by Pg Bahrom Pg Hj Bahar, deputy permanent secretaryat the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports during the prize presentation for creative Bahana Magazine competition yesterday at Balai Sarmayuda of the Language and Literature Bureau.

The guest of honour commented that with writers acute and critical mind, they are capable of expressing their observation on current issues in writing. He said the nation's current issues largely stemmed from globalisation. Writers role in combating negative influence of globalisation lie in their ability to increase public awareness by mentioning the importance of religion in life. "In their novels, poems and poetry, these local writers could include the importance of religion for the success in both lives," he said.

By sending their work to the magazine, local writers will inadvertently improve their work quality said the Language and Literature Bureau's Director, Dr Mataim Bakar.Evaluated by a panel of judges, writers will inadvertently put their utmost effort to be at par with the other experienced local writers. This will not only help boost Bahana magazine's image, it will also improve the standard of Malay language in the nation.

Five winners in the short category stories were Hj Zainal Abidin Hj Muhammad with his story entitled Selagi Masih Bernafas; Muhabat Tum Karr He Hee Ahmad Ezrat Ghulam Shah dengan Khaleda Phulam Shahul by Hj Bujang Hj Matnor; Arlogi by Hj Ahmad Arshad; Mamma by Pg Hj Metassan Pg Bakar and Mahalnya Khat by Hjh Norsiah Hj Abd Gapar.

In the poem category, the winners were Chong Ah Fok with Anak-Anak G3; Pg Hj Metassan Pg Bakar with Hari Kekasih; Lukisan Rama-Rama by Suip Hj Abd Wahab; Detik waktu membelah usia by Pg Hj Mahmud Pg Damit and Erti sebuah bendera by Hj Bidin Hj Md Noor. Whereas Hj Osman BPSKDSS Hj Mohd was the sole winner for poetry.